

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Carrie McCarthy, Director of Communications

Berlin Area School District

920-361-5458 or cmccarthy@berlin.k12.wi.us

BHS HOLDS ACADEMIC AWARDS BREAKFAST

BERLIN, WI - On Tuesday, November 8th, Berlin High School hosted the 35th annual Academic Awards Breakfast. The awards program was initiated and developed in the 1987-88 school year by the BHS Student Council. Current Student Council Officers Madeline Maxson (Co-President), Ethan Brunke (Co-President), and Anna McCarthy (Secretary) distributed the awards.

Sophomores in their second semester through Seniors are eligible for academic awards. Students earn awards by accumulating points - Superior Honors 3.8 GPA and above equals three points, High Honors 3.2 - 3.79 GPA equals two points, and Honors 3.0 - 3.19 equals one point. Students who accumulate 12 points earn a letter, students earn a bar for each additional six points. Second semester awards will be held in the spring.

Honorees included the following:

Class of 2024 (Juniors)

Letter

Lauren Burgess, Trevor Clark, Violet Daubner, Alivia Davey, Robert Gropp, Jane Hoffman, Joseph King-Emanuele, Jude Kujawa, Jenna Nigbor, Justin Polakowski, Augustus Schimke, and Layten Sobieski

Class of 2023 (Seniors)

Letter

Robert Frank, Kaimbryn Sirrell, and Joseph Thrasher

1st Bar

Spencer Goettl, Madeline Kresal, Frank Kujawa, Cindy Liu, Jeffery Manata, and Madelyn Nigbor

2nd Bar

Jackson Bartol, Ethan Brunke, Cole Buttke, Amber Dretske, Cayli Johnson, Adam Luttropp, Anna McCarthy, Laurel Miller, Darrell Nackers, Jr., Elyse Osterberg, Brady Pomplun, April Ryckman, Ann Schmitz, Anna Schumacher, Emilee Wegner, Madalyn Winter, and Autumn Young